This control will also apply to settings in new products they launch going forward. So if you decide to share your content with friends only, then they’ll set future settings to friends only as well. This means you won’t have to worry about new settings in the future.
They’ve reduced the amount of basic information that must be visible to everyone and they are removing the connections privacy model. Now they’ll be giving you the ability to control who can see your friends and pages. These fields will no longer have to be public.
The controls for this basic information can be found at the top of the privacy page in Basic Directory Information. They recommend that you make these settings open to everyone. Otherwise, people you know may not be able to find you and that will make the site less useful for you.
They’ve made it simple to control whether applications and websites can access any of your information. Many of you enjoy using applications or playing games, but for those of you who don’t they’ve added an easy way to turn off Platform completely. This will make sure that none of your information is shared with applications or websites.
If you simply want to turn off instant personalization, they’ve also made that easier. Already, partner sites can only see things you’ve made visible to everyone. But if you want to prevent them from even seeing that, you can now easily turn off instant personalization completely.